"Solaris-4" telescope

Project Solaris is a global network of telescopes operated by the Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center (NCAC), Poland. It consists of four fully autonomous observatories located in the Republic of South Africa (Solaris-1 and -2), Australia (Solaris-3), and CASLEO, Argentina (Solaris-4). The headquarters and main database are located in Toruń, Poland.

20% of the observing time in Solaris-4 is available for the Argentine astronomical community. An additional 10% is available for joint projects NCAC - CONICET.

Access to the other telescopes in the network might be possible through specific joint projects.

The available instrumentation at Solaris-4 consists of a CCD camera for direct imaging.


Main optical data

Primary mirror diameter:0.5 m
Focal ratio:f/15 (Ritchey-Chretien)
CCD camera:Andor Icon-L 2048 x 2048 pixels (-70 grados C)
FoV:13' 13'
Available filters:U, B, V, R, I (Johnson); u', g', r', i', z' (Sloan)

For further information, please refer to Solaris Project web pages, and to the paper by Kozlowski et al.